History - The Sixties


Junior League Final

Oram 1-2 Latton 0-4

Then Dr Ward Cup holders, Latton O’Rahillys were dethroned by Oram, by a single point in a thrilling tussle at Oram meadow witnessed by a record attendance.

Latton owed much to the courageous & skilful goal-keeping of Tommy Bates who was shielded by possibly the best full-back line in the Monaghan Junior Football at the time: E.O’Sullivan, P.McMahon & T.O’Sullivan were practically unbeatable. S.McCabe & Patrick Lennon were sound wing half backs as was centre half back E Duffy. Star mid-fielder Seamus McElroy and Owen O’Sullivan played their parts, but like their Oram counterparts, they hadn’t much luck in scoring!

Séamus McElroy transferred to Castleblayney in 1960 which caused some commotion when Monaghan Harps objected. When Blayney beat them in the Senior Championship Semi final, the objection went to the County Board, then to the Ulster Council & lastly to Central Council where the objection was thrown out.

1961 Latton-Ballybay Minor C'Ship Winners

 1964 Drumgoon Tournament Winners

1967 Team v Donaghmoyne